Wild Weekly’s Photo Contest: Flowers

I’m participating in the online adventure travel and photography magazine LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggersThis week’s Challenge is: Flowers!

I love flowers!  When wandering through the desert and mountains, I often look to see if there are any flowers because they’re just so beautiful!  Sometimes, it’s all I’ll photograph if I’ve been through the area frequently.

Here is my favorite flower photograph!  I was taking pictures of these desert flowers when a bee landed on the flower!  Great shot, but I ran afterwards!  (Bees and I don’t get along too well.)

64040_383884621640366_1058574444_n

 

 

A rose by any other name, is still a rose.

_MG_0104

 

Sometimes it’s simply amazing to see a flower grow among the harsh rocks where it’s hard to grow anything.

_MG_0415I’m not exactly sure what kind of flower this is.  I found it in my front yard one evening after work.

This one I found wandering in the desert around Cedar Pocket, inside the Virgin River Gorge.

_MG_2721

 

 

Of course, living on the edge of the Colorado Plateau, there is an amazing variety of plants and flowers that grow here, from the amazing Prickly Pear Cactus and its gorgeous flowers that turn into a delightful fruit that is delicious and tart.

_MG_2718

In the higher plateaus, you will find alpine flowers mixed with desert flowers, such as this blue flower, I’m not sure if it’s a violet or not.

_MG_2743

 

Then there is the world famous Sego Lily, Utah’s State Flower.  It’s very simple, yet delightful.

_MG_2766

 

 

What’s even more amazing, is that here in the Mojave Desert, or is it the Colorado Plateau, or the Great Basin??  Well, guess what- it’s all three!  All these different geographic features meet right here in Zion National Park!  Cool, right?!  Anyway, right here in this area, we have the Narrows, and there you will find all kinds of aquatic plants.  My favorite is the Golden Columbine, which loves the hanging gardens, along with Monkey Flowers and Shooting Stars.  Here is the Columbine, with Shooting Stars in the background.

_RW_1400

 

Enjoy these flowers and please feel free to comment and visit the other contestants as well.