Finally Friday: Abert Squirrel

I found this little guy at the Grand Canyon South Rim when I worked there a few years ago.  I would often walk to work and walk home through the forests.  I saw this cutie scampering around the trail for several days, and I was able to get some closeups of him, which I hear, were pretty rare.  These squirrels are related to the famous Kaibab Squirrel, and from what I was told, they were the same species before the Canyon split.  After centuries of separation, they have evolved into two seperate species.  Anyway, here’s Mr. Abert Squirrel, Esq.

aber-squirrel

Enjoy,

Kelly

Leave a Reply

